FAQ

What does being insured by the Pension Fund Swiss Re mean?

It means that the Swiss Re pension scheme pays you and / or beneficiaries (for example, spouse or partner and children) benefits if you experience a loss of financial income because you retire, become disabled, or die.

What kind of plan does the Pension Fund Swiss Re offer?

The Pension Fund Swiss Re consists of

  • the Pension Pan and
  • the Capital Plan.

You may also supplement an ER account through voluntary buy-ins. Using this ER account, the retirement pension could be increased in the event of voluntary early retirement and/or a supplementary pension could be financed up to age 65.

Why two Plans?

The Pension Fund Swiss Re offers two plans to:

  • provide you with wide insurance coverage;
  • mirror the compensation system on which benefits are based. The Pension Plan covers your fixed salary and the Capital Plan benefits are linked to the bonus amount you actually receive from Swiss Re;
  • give you the opportunity to decide in which plan you wish to make extra payments to buy additional benefits.

When does your insurance coverage begin?

Generally, when you begin working at Swiss Re.
You have risk insurance cover under the Pension Plan as of 1 January following your 17th birthday, provided you earn an annual salary of at least CHF 21 330.
You are fully insured under the Pension Plan as of 1 January following your 24th birthday.

When does your insurance coverage end?

  • Under the Pension Plan, when you stop working at Swiss Re for any reason other than retirement, disability or death.
  • Under the Capital Plan, when your accrued savings capital becomes payable, which is generally when you stop working at Swiss Re.
  • If you end your employment with Swiss Re, the insurance coverage provided under the Pension Plan for disability and for death will continue until you join your new employer's pension fund, or for one month after you stopped working for Swiss Re, whichever comes first.

What happens when you join the Pension Fund Swiss Re?

  • Any leaving benefit paid by a former employer's pension scheme must be transferred to the Pension Fund Swiss Re. This amount is invested in the Pension Plan.
  • If you do not transfer any leaving benefit at the start of your participation in the Pension Fund, or if the amount of your leaving benefit is less than the highest amount you can contribute to the Pension Fund, you can at any time until the age of 65 make extra payments to the Pension Plan to buy the maximum benefits possible.
  • If the entry contribution exceeds the maximum possible buy-in amount in the Pension Plan, you can decide whether we should credit the remaining amount to the ER account or the Capital Plan as a buy-in or whether you would like to open a vested benefits account.

What happens when you leave the Pension Fund Swiss Re?

In most cases, the total amount of your Pension Fund Swiss Re leaving benefit (from the Pension Plan and the Capital Plan) is transferred to your new employer's pension scheme.
If you end your employment with Swiss Re, the insurance coverage provided by this pension scheme for disability and for death will continue until you join your new employer's pension fund, or for one month after you stopped working for Swiss Re, whichever comes first.

How do lump-sum withdrawals upon retirement affect the amount of retirement benefits?

Lump-sum withdrawals upon retirement reduce the retirement savings capital. The amount of the pension is determined through this equation:

Retirement savings capital in the Pension Plan * conversion rate = annual retirement pension.

Each lump-sum withdrawal therefore reduces the retirement pension. The higher the amount of the lump-sum withdrawal, and the smaller the amount of the remaining retirement savings capital, the greater the reduction of the retirement pension.

What is a conversion rate?

The conversion rate is the percentage used to convert the retirement savings capital in the Pension Plan into an annual retirement pension at the time of retirement.

Example: year of birth 1954, age 65, survivors' benefits corresponding to the statutory minimum benefits under the FSOPP, retirement savings capital of CHF 500 000 in the Pension Plan, conversion rate of 4.93%. The annual retirement pension will accordingly be 4.93% of CHF 500 000, which comes to CHF 24 650.

Why does the Pension Fund Swiss Re use conversion rates based on the year of birth?

The statistically calculated life expectancy has a major impact on the conversion rate. Because the Pension Fund Swiss Re uses generation tables, younger insureds are subject to lower conversion rates than older insureds. The Pension Fund Swiss Re thereby also takes account of increasing life expectancy in the future.

Is the same conversion rate applied for men and women?

The Pension Fund Swiss Re does not distinguish between the genders. To take account of the differing lifestyles among insureds, the Pension Fund Swiss Re has now introduced conversion rates that vary according to the amount of the selected survivors' benefits. The higher the amount of the survivors' benefits, the lower the conversion rate and thus the amount of the retirement pension.

What is the difference between a periodic table and a generation table?

Mortality tables show information on how many people from a large group die for each year of age. They allow the life expectancies of a new-born child and of a person of a specific age to be calculated statistically.

When calculating a conversion rate, the life expectancy of a 65-year-old is key, and two different approaches can be taken here: periodic tables and generation tables.

  • Periodic table

A periodic table provides a snapshot. The average life expectancy of a 10-year-old child is measured for the same period as that of a 65-year-old. However, in 55 years, when the 10-year-old child is 65 years old, they will most likely have a higher life expectancy than a 65-year-old would have today.

  • Generation table

A generation table takes into account increasing life expectancy, even after retirement. Experts find this to be a more reliable basis for calculation. Generation tables show people as living for longer than periodic tables do. This is because the increasing life expectancy has already been taken into account. This distinction is important when determining the conversion rate: A life expectancy that is too low will lead to the pensioner receiving an annual pension that is too high. The money that they saved for their own pension during their working life will not be enough to last until the end of their life. However, pensions are guaranteed until death. Therefore, the missing capital must be generated through the capital market or must be cross-financed through active insureds. This redistribution, which goes against the system, is happening today but the use of generation tables means that it is being significantly reduced. The Pension Fund Swiss Re has been applying generation tables since 1 January 2015.

What is meant by the term "technical bases"?

Pension fund obligations are calculated on the basis of biometric elements, such as the probability of dying, becoming disabled or getting married. These probabilities are obtained using statistics that are generated over several years on the basis of observations of large numbers of insureds. The compiling of all probabilities and the resulting cash equivalents when calculating pension obligations is referred to as "technical bases".

Why do the technical bases change?

Since the probability of dying or becoming disabled, for example, is not constant but is subject to change, the technical bases must be regularly updated. The continuous increase in life expectancy over recent decades is a well-known example of this. A change in statutory provisions and economic circumstances may also affect the likelihood of becoming disabled.

In accordance with the FSOPP (Swiss Federal Law on Occupational Retirement, Survivors' and Disability Pension Plans), a conversion rate of 6.80% applies. Why does the Pension Fund Swiss Re still only pay, for example, 4.55% (option 1) for those born in 1954 and aged 65?

The conversion rate of 6.80% applies only to the statutory minimum benefit within the framework of the FSOPP mandatory scheme (see "FSOPP retirement savings" on your pension benefits statement). The Pension Fund Swiss Re offers significantly higher, "enveloping" benefits. As long as the statutory minimum benefits under FSOPP are met, the Pension Fund may determine lower conversion rates for the entire retirement savings.

The Pension Fund Board of the Pension Fund Swiss Re sets the conversion rate for the extra-mandatory portion, using the long-term interest rate environment and the life expectancy as a basis. This results in a mixed rate, which ensures that statutory provisions are met at all times.

Compliance with the minimum benefits is guaranteed for each and every insured.

Do the options for designing survivors' benefits for spouses also apply for cohabiting partners? If so, what do insureds need to do in this case, and what are the applicable deadlines?

The options for designing survivors' benefits for spouses also apply for cohabiting partners. By two months before retirement at the latest, insureds must communicate their desired option in writing to the Pension Fund Swiss Re. For married insureds, it is also necessary to have written consent from the spouse, with the spouse's signature being notarised. The spouse may also personally submit the signature by appearing at the offices of the Pension Fund Swiss Re and presenting an identity document. This requirement does not apply for cohabiting partners.

If the insured does not communicate a desired option, the conversion rate with a spouse's pension of 60% of the retirement pension will be applied.

Available options:

Option 1: Spouse's pension of 60% of the retirement pension

Option 2: Spouse's pension of 100% of the retirement pension

Option 3: Spouse's pension corresponding to the statutory minimum benefits under the FSOPP

Registered partnerships are treated in the same way as marriages.

Are buy-ins for the financing of voluntary early retirement or a supplementary pension tax-deductible?

All buy-ins to the Pension Fund Swiss Re, ie buy-ins to the Pension Plan, the Capital Plan or the ER account (pre-financing of early retirement) for the pre-financing of voluntary early retirement or a supplementary pension can be claimed as a reduction of income for tax purposes.

Three important points should be noted:

a)      Three-year period: If the last buy-in occurs within three years before a lump-sum withdrawal, the tax authorities will adjust the tax assessment by the amount of the buy-in and the insured will have to pay supplementary taxes (including default interest).

b)      Moving to Switzerland from abroad: Insureds who have never been insured by a Swiss pension fund and who have moved to Switzerland from abroad within the last five years may only make buy-ins equal to an annual maximum of 20% of their insured salary (according to the pension benefits statement).

c)      Buy-ins by an insured for voluntary early retirement can only be credited to the ER account if the retirement savings capital in the Pension Plan has reached the specified maximum amount. In the case of insureds who do not take voluntary early retirement despite having bought into the ER account, and whose benefits, upon immediate retirement, exceed 105% of the model-based benefits target, with a full term of insurance* and at the normal retirement age, the retirement savings capital of these insureds will no longer accrue interest. Furthermore, no more retirement credits will be granted, and no more savings contributions collected.
* Retirement pension corresponds to 60% of the last insured salary

How else can you use your Pension Fund benefits?

Under certain circumstances, you can use some or all of your accrued pension fund benefits (from the Pension Plan and the Capital Plan) to buy a home.
If you get divorced while participating in the Pension Fund, half of your accrued benefits (in the Pension Plan and the Capital Plan) will be paid to your ex-spouse.

What are your rights?

In addition to the benefits described, you have the right to receive information regarding the organisation and investment performance of the Pension Fund Swiss Re. However, you do not have the right to receive any personal information about other pension scheme participants. Each year, you will receive a personalised pension statement. If you do not automatically receive the information you require, you can ask the Pension Fund team or a member of the Pension Fund Board to forward it to you.

What are your duties?

You are required to provide all the necessary information regarding insurance to the Pension Fund Swiss Re, including:

  • The leaving benefit paid by your former employer's pension scheme;
  • Changes in income and changes in health if you are on sick leave due to being disabled;
  • Changes in your martial or family status.

How is the Pension Fund Swiss Re administered?

The Pension Fund is managed by a foundation which falls under the supervision of the Canton of Zurich. As a foundation, the Pension Fund Swiss Re is legally independent.
The foundation is managed by a Pension Fund Board whose members are personally responsible for all the foundation's activities. The Pension Fund Board delegates special tasks, such as management and the investment of capital, to specially designated persons.

What can you do if you do not agree with a decision of the Pension Fund Board?

If you disagree with a decision, you can take the following legal steps:

  1. Indicate your objection to the Pension Fund Swiss Re management;
  2. Appeal to the Pension Fund Board;
  3. Take ordinary legal action by making a claim to the Cantonal Insurance Tribunal in Zurich, which is normally free of charge and requires no lawyer.

If necessary, you can contact the Supervisory Authority of Zurich to act as your mediator.

We are is available to answer any questions you may have.

FAQ

Was bedeutet es, bei der Pensionskasse Swiss Re versichert zu sein?

Es bedeutet, dass Sie und/oder Ihre Begünstigten (z.B. Ehepartner, Lebenspartner und Kinder) bei Verlust Ihres Erwerbseinkommens infolge Alter, Erwerbsunfähigkeit oder Tod Leistungen von der Pensionskasse Swiss Re erhalten.

Welchen Vorsorgeplan bietet die Pensionskasse Swiss Re?

Die Pensionskasse Swiss Re umfasst

  • einen Pensionsplan und
  • einen Kapitalplan.

Zusätzlich können Sie noch ein VP Konto durch freiwillige Einkäufe äufnen. Aus diesem VP Konto können die Altersrente bei einem freiwilligen vorzeitigen Altersrücktritt erhöhen und / oder eine Ergänzungspension bis zum Alter 65 finanzieren.

Warum zwei Pläne?

Die Pensionskasse Swiss Re führt zwei Pläne, um

  1. Ihnen einen umfassenden Versicherungsschutz zu bieten;
  2. das leistungsabhängige Lohnsystem zu widerspiegeln, in dem der Lohn im Pensionsplan und der effektive Bonus im Kapitalplan die massgebenden Bezugsgrössen sind;
  3. Sie entscheiden zu lassen, in welchen Plan Sie vorzugsweise einen eventuellen zusätzlichen Einkauf tätigen wollen.

Wann beginnt Ihr Versicherungsschutz?

Grundsätzlich mit dem Beginn des Arbeitsverhältnisses, frühestens jedoch:
Aufnahme in die Risikoversicherung des Pensionsplans ab 1. Januar nach Vollendung des 17. Altersjahres, sofern ein Jahreslohn von CHF 21 330.- erzielt wird
Aufnahme in die Vollversicherung des Pensionsplans ab 1. Januar nach Vollendung des 24. Altersjahres.

Wann endet Ihr Versicherungsschutz?

  1. Im Pensionsplan mit Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses aus einem anderen Grund als Tod, Invalidität oder Pensionierung.
  2. Im Kapitalplan mit der Auszahlung des angesammelten Sparkapitals, d.h. grundsätzlich mit Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses.
  3. Die Risiken Tod und Invalidität bleiben bei der Pensionskasse Swiss Re bis zum Eintritt in eine neue Vorsorgeeinrichtung, längstens aber für die Dauer eines Monats nach Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses, gedeckt.

Was passiert bei Ihrem Eintritt in die Pensionskasse Swiss Re?

  • Die Austrittsleistung Ihrer vorherigen Pensionskasse muss der Pensionskasse Swiss Re als Eintrittsleistung überwiesen werden. Damit werden Sie im Pensionsplan eingekauft.
  • Bringen Sie keine Austrittsleistung mit oder ist der überwiesene Betrag kleiner als die maximal mögliche Einkaufssumme im Pensionsplan, können Sie bis Alter 65 bis zu diesem Maximum einen zusätzlichen Einkauf tätigen.
  • Überschreitet die Eintrittsleistung die maximal mögliche Einkaufssumme im Pensionsplan, so können Sie wählen, ob wir den Restbetrag dem VP Konto oder dem  Kapitalplan als Einkauf gutschreiben sollen oder ob Sie damit ein Freizügigkeitskonto eröffnen möchten.

Was passiert bei Ihrem Austritt aus der Pensionskasse Swiss Re?

Grundsätzlich wird Ihre gesamte Austrittsleistung (Pensionsplan, VP Konto und Kapitalplan) der Pensionskasse Swiss Re an die Vorsorgeeinrichtung Ihres neuen Arbeitgebers überwiesen.
Die Risiken Tod und Invalidität bleiben im Pensionsplan bei der Pensionskasse Swiss Re bis zum Eintritt in die neue Vorsorgeeinrichtung, längstens aber für die Dauer eines Monats nach Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses, gedeckt.

Wie beeinflussen Kapitalbezüge bei der Pensionierung die Höhe der Altersleistungen?

Kapitalbezüge bei der Pensionierung schmälern das Altersguthaben. Die Rentenhöhe ergibt sich durch die Berechnung:

Altersguthaben im Pensionsplan * Umwandlungssatz = Jährliche Alterspension.

Dadurch reduziert jeder Kapitalbezug die Alterspension. Je höher der Kapitalbezug und je kleiner das verbleibende Altersguthaben ist, desto stärker sinkt die Alterspension.

Was ist ein Umwandlungssatz?

Der Umwandlungssatz ist der Prozentsatz, mit welchem das Altersguthaben im Pensionsplan zum Zeitpunkt des Altersrücktrittes in die jährliche Alterspension umgerechnet wird.

Beispiel: Jahrgang 1954, Alter 65, Hinterlassenenleistung gemäss gesetzlicher Mindestleistung BVG, Altersguthaben im Pensionsplan CHF 500 000, Umwandlungssatz 4,93%. Die jährliche Alterspension beträgt demzufolge 4,93% von CHF 500 000, also CHF 24 650.

Warum verwendet die Pensionskasse Swiss Re jahrgangsabhängige Umwandlungssätze?

Die statistisch ermittelte Lebenserwartung hat einen grossen Einfluss auf den Umwandlungssatz. Indem die Pensionskasse Swiss Re Generationentafeln verwendet, werden jüngeren Versicherten tiefere Umwandlungssätze zugeordnet als älteren Versicherten. Damit trägt die Pensionskasse Swiss Re auch der künftig steigenden Lebenserwartung Rechnung.

Kommt bei Frauen und Männern der gleiche Umwandlungssatz zur Anwendung?

Die Pensionskasse Swiss Re unterscheidet nicht zwischen den Geschlechtern. Um den verschiedenen Lebensmodellen unserer Versicherten Rechnung zu tragen, hat die Pensionskasse Swiss Re neu unterschiedliche Umwandlungssätze eingeführt, die je nach Höhe der gewählten Hinterlassenenleistung unterschiedlich ausfallen. Je höher die Hinterlassenenleistung, desto tiefer der Umwandlungssatz und damit der Betrag der Alterspension.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Perioden- und Generationentafeln?

Die Sterbetafel gibt Auskunft, wie viele Personen einer grossen Gruppe pro Altersjahr sterben. Die Lebenserwartung eines neugeborenen Kindes und die Lebenserwartung einer Person in einem bestimmten Alter lassen sich damit statistisch berechnen.

Für die Berechnung des Umwandlungssatzes ist die Lebenserwartung einer Person im Alter von 65 Jahren wichtig. Dafür gibt es zwei unterschiedliche Ansätze: die Periodentafel und die Generationentafel.

  • Periodentafel

Die Periodentafel ist eine Momentaufnahme. Die durchschnittliche Lebenserwartung eines 10-jährigen Kindes wird im gleichen Zeitraum wie jene einer 65-jährigen Person gemessen. Das 10-jährige Kind wird aber in 55 Jahren, wenn es 65-jährig ist, höchstwahrscheinlich eine höhere Lebenserwartung haben, als eine heute 65-jährige Person.

  • Generationentafel

Die Generationentafel berücksichtigt die steigende Lebenserwartung und zwar auch nach der Pensionierung. Unter Experten gilt diese Grundlage als zuverlässiger. Gemäss Generationentafel lebt der Mensch länger als gemäss Periodentafel, denn die steigende Lebenserwartung wird bereits eingerechnet. Das ist wichtig für die Festsetzung des Umwandlungssatzes: Wird von einer zu tiefen Lebenserwartung ausgegangen, erhalten die Rentenbezüger pro Jahr eine zu hohe Rente. Das Geld, das sie während ihrer Berufstätigkeit für ihre eigene Rente angespart haben, reicht nicht bis zum Lebensende. Die Rente ist aber bis zum Tod garantiert. Das fehlende Kapital muss deshalb über den Kapitalmarkt erwirtschaftet oder durch die aktiven Versicherten querfinanziert werden. Diese systemwidrige Umverteilung findet heute statt, wird aber mit der Verwendung von Generationentafeln signifikant reduziert. Die Pensionskasse Swiss Re wendet Generationentafeln seit dem 1. Januar 2015 an.

Was versteht man unter dem Begriff 'technische Grundlagen'?

Die Berechnungen der Verpflichtungen der Pensionskassen basieren auf biometrischen Grundlagen, also beispielsweise der Wahrscheinlichkeit zu sterben, invalid zu werden oder verheiratet zu sein. Diese Wahrscheinlichkeiten werden aus Statistiken gewonnen, die aufgrund von Beobachtungen grosser Versichertenbestände über mehrere Jahre erstellt werden. Das Zusammenstellen aller Wahrscheinlichkeiten und den daraus resultierenden Barwerten zur Berechnung von Pensionsverpflichtungen wird als "technische Grundlagen" bezeichnet.

Warum ändern die technischen Grundlagen?

Die technischen Grundlagen müssen regelmässig erneuert werden, da beispielsweise die Wahrscheinlichkeit zu sterben oder invalid zu werden nicht konstant ist, sondern sich verändert. Die fortlaufende Erhöhung der Lebenserwartung der letzten Jahrzehnte ist ein bekanntes Beispiel dafür. Die Veränderung gesetzlicher Vorgaben und konjunkturelle Umstände können die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Invalidisierung ebenfalls beeinflussen.

Gemäss Bundesgesetz über die berufliche Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenvorsorge (BVG) gilt ein Umwandlungssatz von 6,80%. Weshalb bezahlt die Pensionskasse Swiss Re z. B. für den Jahrgang 1954 im Alter von 65 nur noch 4,55% (Option 1)?

Der Umwandlungssatz von 6,80% gilt nur auf der gesetzlichen Mindestleistung im Rahmen des BVG-Obligatoriums (siehe 'BVG-Altersguthaben' auf dem Versicherungsausweis). Die Pensionskasse Swiss Re bietet deutlich höhere, sogenannte umhüllende Leistungen an. Solange die gesetzlichen BVG-Mindestleistungen eingehalten werden, darf die Pensionskasse auf das gesamte Altersguthaben tiefere Umwandlungssätze festlegen.

Der Stiftungsrat der Pensionskasse Swiss Re legt den Umwandlungssatz für den überobligatorischen Teil basierend auf dem langfristigen Zinsumfeld und der Lebenserwartung fest. Dies ergibt einen Mischsatz, der sicherstellt, dass die gesetzlichen Vorgaben jederzeit eingehalten werden.

Die Einhaltung der Mindestleistungen wird für jeden einzelnen Versicherten sichergestellt.

Kommen die Optionen für die Gestaltung der Hinterlassenenleistung für Ehepartner auch für eheähnliche Lebensgemeinschaften zur Anwendung? Wenn ja: Wie müssen die Versicherten vorgehen und welche Fristen müssen beachtet werden?

Die Optionen für die Gestaltung der Hinterlassenenleistung für Ehepartner kommen auch bei eheähnlichen Lebensgemeinschaften (Konkubinat) zur Anwendung. Der Versicherte wählt spätestens zwei Monate vor seiner Pensionierung die von ihm gewünschte Option und teilt sie der Pensionskasse Swiss Re schriftlich mit. Bei verheirateten Versicherten ist eine schriftliche Zustimmung des Ehepartners erforderlich, wobei die Unterschrift des Ehepartners amtlich beglaubigt sein muss. Der Ehepartner kann die Unterschrift auch unter Beibringung eines Identitätsnachweises und durch persönliches Vorsprechen am Sitz der Pensionskasse Swiss Re geben. Für eheähnliche Lebensgemeinschaften gilt diese Vorschrift nicht.

Ohne Mitteilung des Versicherten wird der Umwandlungssatz mit einer Ehepartnerpension von 60% der Alterspension angewendet.

Mögliche Optionen:

Option 1: Ehepartnerpension in Höhe von 60% der Alterspension

Option 2: Ehepartnerpension in Höhe von 100% der Alterspension

Option 3: Ehepartnerpension entspricht der gesetzlichen Mindestleistung gemäss BVG

Eingetragene Partnerschaften sind der Ehe gleich gestellt.

Können Einkäufe für die Finanzierung einer freiwilligen vorzeitigen Pensionierung oder der Ergänzungspension von den Steuern abgezogen werden?

Alle Einkäufe in die Pensionskasse Swiss Re, d.h. Einkäufe in den Pensionsplan, den Kapitalplan oder auf das VP-Konto (Vorfinanzierung vorzeitige Pensionierung) zur Vorfinanzierung einer freiwilligen vorzeitigen Pensionierung oder Ergänzungspension, können bei den Steuern als Einkommensminderung geltend gemacht werden.

Drei wichtige Punkte sind zu beachten:

a)      3-Jahresfrist: Wenn der letzte Einkauf vor einem Kapitalbezug weniger als drei Jahre zurück liegt, wird die Steuerbehörde die Veranlagung um den Einkaufsbetrag korrigieren und der Versicherte muss Nachsteuern zahlen (inkl. Verzugszins).

b)      Zuzug aus dem Ausland: Wenn ein Versicherter noch nie bei einer schweizerischen Pensionskasse versichert war und sein Zuzug aus dem Ausland weniger als fünf Jahre zurückliegt, darf dieser Versicherte pro Jahr maximal 20% seines versicherten Lohns (gemäss Versicherungsausweis) als Einkauf tätigen.

c)      Die Einkäufe des Versicherten für eine freiwillige vorzeitige Pensionierung können dem VP-Konto nur gutgeschrieben werden, wenn das Altersguthaben im Pensionsplan den definierten Höchstbetrag erreicht hat. Bei Versicherten, die trotz Einkauf in das VP-Konto auf die freiwillige vorzeitige Pensionierung verzichten und deren Leistungen bei einem sofortigen Rücktritt 105% des modellmässig berechneten Leistungsziels bei einer vollständige Versicherungsdauer* im ordentlichen Rücktrittsalter überschreiten, wird das Altersguthaben nicht mehr verzinst. Ausserdem werden keine Altersgutschriften mehr gewährt und keine Sparbeiträge mehr erhoben.
* Alterspension entspricht 60 % des letzten versicherten Lohnes

Was kann sonst noch mit den Vorsorgemitteln unternommen werden?

Sie können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen Ihre Austrittsleistung (Pensionsplan und Kapitalplan) ganz oder teilweise zum Erwerb von Wohneigentum verwenden.
Im Scheidungsfall wird die Hälfte der während der Ehe erworbenen Austrittsleistung (Pensionsplan und Kapitalplan) zugunsten Ihres ehemaligen Ehepartners überwiesen.

Welches sind Ihre Rechte?

Nebst dem Anspruch auf Leistungen haben Sie Anrecht auf alle Informationen über die Organisation, das Geschäft und die Anlagetätigkeit der Pensionskasse Swiss Re, mit Ausnahme von persönlichen Daten anderer Versicherter. Über Ihre voraussichtlichen individuellen Ansprüche werden Sie jährlich mit dem Versicherungsausweis informiert. Sofern Ihnen die gewünschten Informationen nicht automatisch zugestellt werden, können Sie diese beim Pensionskassen-Team oder bei einem Mitglied des Stiftungsrates anfordern.

Welches sind Ihre Pflichten?

Sie sind verpflichtet, der Pensionskasse Swiss Re alle notwendigen Auskünfte zu erteilen, insbesondere Angaben über

  • die Austrittsleistung Ihrer vorherigen Pensionskasse,
  • Ihre Einkommensveränderungen und Veränderungen in Ihrem Gesundheitszustand während einer Arbeitsunfähigkeit,
  • die Änderungen Ihres Zivilstands und Ihrer Familienverhältnisse.

Wie wird die Pensionskasse Swiss Re verwaltet?

Die Pensionskasse Swiss Re wird durch eine Stiftung betrieben, die unter der Aufsicht des Kantons Zürich steht. Als Stiftung ist die Pensionskasse Swiss Re rechtlich unabhängig.
Das oberste Organ der Stiftung ist der Stiftungsrat, dessen Mitglieder für deren Tätigkeiten persönlich verantwortlich sind. Der Stiftungsrat delegiert besondere Aufgaben wie Geschäftsführung und Vermögensanlage an speziell bezeichnete Personen.

Was können Sie unternehmen, wenn Sie mit einem Entscheid nicht einverstanden sind?

Wenn Sie mit einem Entscheid nicht einverstanden sind, gilt folgender Rekursweg:

  1. Einwand bei der Geschäftsführung der Pensionskasse Swiss Re.
  2. Berufung an den Stiftungsrat.
  3. Üblicher Rechtsweg: Eine Klage an das kantonale Versicherungsgericht Zürich ist in der Regel kostenlos und erfordert keinen Anwalt.

Als Ombudsstelle können Sie die Aufsichtsbehörde des Kantons Zürich kontaktieren.

Die Mitarbeitenden der Pensionskasse stehen Ihnen für sämtliche Fragen zur Verfügung.